| Home | Life & Family | Awards | Did You Know | Others Have To Say | Lata's Fav Songs | Lata Hospital | Articles | Actresses |

| Lata Club | Lata Perfume | World's Largest Portrait | Solo List | Duet List | SS & Books | Amul Topicals |

Awards Of Lata Mangeshkar

Lataji receiving the Bharat Ratna by President K.R.Narayan

Filmfare Awards

The Filmfare Awards for playback singing first started in the year 1958. In 1956, 'Rasik Balma'[CHORI-CHORI] won the Best Song Filmfare Award, Lata refused to sing it live in protest of no Playback Singer category, which paved way in 1958 of this new category ( though Male & Female Awards where started later on).

From the year 1958 to 1966 no other female singer was able to get the filmfare award. Since she had won the popular Filmfare awards so many times & had always been accussed of monopolising the industry (along with sister Asha), after 1969, she made the unusual gesture of giving up FILMFARE awards in favour of fresh talent.

1958 - Aaja Re Pardesi [MADHUMATI]
1962 - Kahi Deep Jale Kahi Dil [BEES SAAL BAAD]
1965 - Tumhi Mere Mandir Tumhi Meri Pooja [KHANDAAN]
1969 - Aap Mujhe Achhe Lagne Lage [JEENE KI RAAH]

1993 : Filmfare Lifetime Achievement Award
1993 : Filmfare felicitated by the Maharashra Government

. for completion of 50 years.
1994 : Filmfare Special Award ( Didi Tera Devar Deewana -HAHK)

National Awards

1972 - Parichay - Best Female Playback Singer.
1975 - Kora Kagaz - Best Female Playback Singer.
1990 - Lekin - Best Female Playback Singer.

Maharashtra State Award

1966 - Sadhi Mansa - Best Playback Singer.
1967 - Jait Re Jait - Best Playback Singer.

Bengal Film Journalist's Association Award

1964 - Woh Kaun Thi - Best Female Playback Singer.
1967 - Milan - Best Female Playback Singer.
1968 - Raja Aur Rank - Best Female Playback Singer.
1969 - Saraswati Chandra - Best Female Playback Singer.
1970 - Do Raaste - Best Female Playback Singer.
1971 - Tere Mere Sapne - Best Female Playback Singer.
1973 - Marjina Abdulla (Bengali) - Best Female Playback Singer.
1973 - Abhimaan - Best Female Playback Singer.
1975 - Kora Kagaz - Best Female Playback Singer.
1981 - Ek Duje Ke Liye - Best Female Playback Singer. A Portrait Of Lataji - 1983
1985 - Ram Teri Ganga Maili - Best Female Playback Singer.

Other Awards

Some of Lataji's awards include :

1969 : Padam Bhushan

1974 : Guinness Book of World Records:for singing the maximum number

. of songs in the world

1980 : Was presented key of the city of Georgetown, Guyana, South America

1980 : Honorary Citizenship. The Republic of Suriname, South America

1985 : 9th June declared as Asia Day in honour of her arrival in Toronto, Canada

1987 : Honorary Citizenship of the U.S.A, Houston, Texas, U.S.A

1989 : Dada Saheb Phalke Award

1990 : Honorary Doctorate (Literature) By Pune University

1996 : Videocon Screen Lifetime Achievement Award

1997 : Rajiv Gandhi Award.

1998 : Lux Zee Cine Lifetime Achievement Award

1999 : Padma Vibhushan

1999 : NTR Award

2000 : Lifetime Achievement Award by IIFA in London

2000 : Jeevan Gaurav Puraskar by the Chaturang PratishthanThe Bharat Ratna Award

2001 : Bharat Ratna - The Nation's Highest Civilian Award

2001: Noorjehan Award : First Reciepient

2001: Maharashtra Ratna : First Reciepient

2002: Felicitation By CII ( For Contribution to Music & the Film Industry)

2002: Hakim Khan Sur Award ( For National Integration by Maharana Mewar Foundation)

2002: Asha Bhosle Award : First Reciepient

Doctor of Literature from Shivaji, Kolhapur, Pune, Khairagadh Music University, Hyderabad University & New York University.

Lataji has received about 250 trophies and 150 gold discs

The only Asian to have received the Platinum Disc of EMI London

Swar Bharati award given by Shankaracharya of Sankeshwar

In Tirupati, the title of Asthaan Sangeet Vidwaan Sarloo(Court Musician of the Shrine).
She has also been the member of the Rajya Sabha

Lata Mangeshkar Award

The Government of Madya Pradesh instituted a national level music award, in 1984, in recognition of Lata's extraordinary talent and her services to the field of music. The award, Lata Mangeshkar Award, consists of a certificate of merit and a cash award of Rs. One Lac. Till date this award has been conferred on such giants of music field like Naushad [1984], Kishore Kumar [1985], Jaidev [1986], Manna Dey [1987], Khayyam [1988], Asha Bhosle [1989], Bhupen Hazarika [2000], Mahendra Kapoor[2002] & Sandhya Mukherjee. Music director O. P. Nayyar was also selected to be the recipient of the Award. He, however, declined to accept it on the ground that he would have preferred to accept an award named after a music director for a music director teaches a singer the nuances of music, not the vice versa.

Lata Mangeshkar Award was also instituted by Maharashtra Government in 1992, first recipient of this award was Manik Verma for her outstanding contribution in singing.

Awards To The Lata Mangeshkar Site

View Gaurav's Guestbook Sign Gaurav's Guestbook

Click Here For The Lata Mangeshkar Fan Club

Click Here For The Asha Bhosle Site

This site has been designed by Gaurav Kumar